Kathy Ireland, you need to go home and think about what you’ve done

March 8, 2010 at 7:01 am (Movies, Random Ramblings, TV)

So this is my Oscar run down.

First, did anyone see the ABC Red Carpet Special that was on right before the Oscars?  Kathy Ireland was PAINFUL.  She’s so wooden and stupid and she yelled at everyone she was interviewing.  She also kept doing this weird swaying, jerking thing with her body.  So incredibly awkward that it was kind of hilarious to watch.  When she interviewed Gabourey Sidibe I think she was so proud of herself for being able to say her name that she made sure to repeat it like 3 times.  This is exactly what she said to her at one point “we hear that you text the people close to you a lot, but for the rest of us Gabourey, what can you share with us?”  Like me, Gabby didn’t exactly know if there was a question there.  What can you share with us???  About what????  About texting???  Can you be more specific?  Gabby basically just said I don’t know a few times and then said she was really excited.   She then closed the interview with “we’re proud of you too, you’ve turned your genius into a dream come true”  Huh?  What does that mean?  She also said thank you about 4 times to Zac Efron because she didn’t know how to end the interview.  I think she didn’t know what to do once her carefully scripted questions were over because I don’t think she deviated from the script at all.  Just as I was pondering who at ABC thinks being on Dancing with the Stars qualifies someone to do interviews on the red carpet, my friend called me and asked  “Are you watching the red carpet?  How brutal is Kathy Ireland?”  We laughed pretty hard about how awful she was and wondered how she could do that on tv in front of so many people when she’s so bad.  In the end we decided that she needed to go home, watch herself and think about what she had done.  The whole pre-show was pretty bad, sigh, I miss E! Channel and Ryan Seacrest.     

Neil Patrick Harris!!!!!  I love him!!!  I always thought I loved him because of Doogie Howser, but I only recently started watching the past seasons of How I Met Your Mother and after seeing that show, I realize that I didn’t even know what love was because my love of NPH has been taken to a whole new level.  He is a genius!  

I thought that Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin were really, really funny.

The John Hughes tribute was great.  I love, love, love John Hughes.  Not only do his movies have great stories and characters,  they also have really kick-ass soundtracks.  His movies were such a part of my childhood and they are still among my favorites – my brothers and I still quote them on a regular basis.

James Taylor singing In My Life while they play the In Memoriam segment?  Um, tissue please.  First of all, one of the best songs ever written.  Second, I think James Taylor has one of the best voices ever.  His voice is like the first really warm day in spring when you open all the windows and everything just feels fresh and soothing and new.  J’adore. 

Yay Sandra Bullock – I love her.  Cute speech but Jesse James with tears in his eyes – um, tissue please.

I still don’t know how District 9 got nominated for Best Picture, I guess that’s what happens when you increase the nominees to 10 but I did not like that movie.  I get the whole parallel with what happened with apartheid in South Africa but I just didn’t really think it was that great.  Maybe it’s because I really never connected with the characters that I didn’t like it but I found at the end of the movie I didn’t really care what happened to any of them.  Not the worst movie I’ve ever seen that was nominated for an Oscar – that is still The Thin Red Line – if you haven’t seen that movie, don’t.  It’s terrible.  I saw it in the theatre and when it was over I was so angry that it had wasted my time.  I thought about leaving in the middle of it but kept thinking something was going to happen – nothing ever did.  I remember looking at my watch 30 mins into it and wondering when the hell the story was going to start.  I also remember about 3 times near the end of the movie the screen mercifully faded to black and we all thought it was over, only to have it continue on again.  People in the theatre actually groaned and started getting upset that it wouldn’t end.  One of the worst movies I’ve ever seen and it still incites rage in me when I talk about it.

The Hurt Locker wins Best Picture, I haven’t seen it yet.  It is sitting on my PVR right now because I planned to watch it this weekend before the Oscars and then somehow when it came time to watch it I decided I didn’t feel like a heavy movie and so I watched Whip It! instead.  Cute movie if you like Ellen Page, which I do, but I kind of wish I had rethought that one. 

Pretty boring Oscar show in all, although I guess they usually are.  I enjoyed the dancers a lot but I’m a sucker for a good dance number.  In the past I used to make an effort to see most of the nominated movies before the Oscars but I really didn’t see many of them this year, maybe that’s why I wasn’t all that into it.  For the record, I think Kate Winslet and Sandra Bullock both looked amazing!!

You know who else looked amazing, Sigourney Weaver!  Seriously, this woman is 60 years old.  I hope look that good at 50!

Leave a Reply

