Olympics Opening Ceremony

February 13, 2010 at 3:50 pm (Random Ramblings)

Playlist:  Muse – Absolution, if you don’t have this album you need to get it, now.  I’ll wait….

Time is Running Out

Hysteria

Endlessly

So that was the Olympics Opening Ceremony, hmmm, I thought it was in a word – dull.  I’ll admit I’m not a huge fan of the opening ceremonies in general, I find them a little drawn out and overly dramatic and everything takes sooooo long.  I prefer a little more action and a little less people wandering around the frozen tundra for 10 minutes.  I get why they chose the concept of how Canada developed and they wanted to honour the First Nations but geez, couldn’t they have found a more exciting way to do it.  All I kept thinking was, this is Canada, the home of Cirque Du Soleil, why didn’t anyone think to hire them to do the opening ceremonies.  Seriously, tell them the concept and what you want to do and let them go to town with it.  I mean if Cirque can put on a show about bugs that had me on the edge of my seat and completely mesmerized surely they could have done something amazing about Canada’s history for the friggin Olympics.  I don’t know Canada, I think we missed the boat on this one.  Not that it was all bad, here are my random thoughts on the whole thing.

  • I enjoyed the fiddlers and tap dancers.  It was nice to see Ashley MacIsaac again because he’s been residing in the Where are they now? files for a while, or maybe I just haven’t been paying attention.  Last I heard he was well on his way towards becoming a train wreck. 
  • I do think it’s cool when we have dramatic ceremonies like this that we have The Mounties because they really do look kind of regal.
  • I LOVE Bryan Adams!!!  Nelly Furtado…not so much.  But Bryan rocks!!  My very first concert was Bryan Adams at Maple Leaf Gardens back in 1992 and although I haven’t cared much for any of the music he’s released in the last 15 years, the minute I hear Heaven I am 13-years old again at a grade 8 dance. 
  • Did k.d. lang have a sex change?  I mean she always looked a little man-ish but when they first showed her I was like, when did she turn into Alec Baldwin?  Although I will say that her singing Hallelujah was one of the highlights of the whole thing.  I LOVE that song!  Written by Leonard Cohen (Canadian) and every time I hear it now I remember when Bon Jovi did a cover of it at their concert in 2007  and when Jon Bon Jovi was introducing it he said that growing up he always hoped to one day write a really great song that would transcend everything and go on for ever and then he said “this is the song I wish I had written” and proceeded to do a kick-ass cover of it.  My favorite version is still Jeff Buckley’s.
  • I liked Shane Koyczan’s poem We Are More.
  • Wayne Gretzky lighting the torch – awesome!
  • The torch malfunctioning and not being fully erected, even more awesome.  Epic fail!  I wonder whose head will roll for that one.  Also awesome, the camera zooming in on Steve Nash’s WTF face while they were waiting for the stupid thing to come out of the floor.
  • Sarah McLachlin’s song and the dance that went with it were good and I thought the celebration of the Rockies with the people on roller blades and the people hanging from the wires on skis and snowboards was okay but again, imagine what Cirque would have done for that!
  • I was not crazy about the version of O Canada that Nikki Yanofsky sang, I don’t know if it was the whole winter wonderland theme getting to me but it reminded me of a Christmas version or something.  Didn’t it sound like something that you would hear at Christmas?  Great voice though.

The procession of athletes:

  • I especially love the countries that only have one or two athletes, that must be so cool for them. 
  • I loved watching the people in the back ground, dressed in white who were lining the walkway for the athletes because they had to keep dancing and jumping around with excitement for the whole hour or however long it took.  Not that I can’t dance for an hour but it’s usually fueled a little by alcohol and requires good music.  Anyway, most of them were rocking the classic step touch dance moves which cracked me up.
  • I love when countries come out and I have no idea where these countries are located, places like Moldova and Montenegro.  And when I say I don’t know where they are located, I mean I don’t even know what continent they are on, I know it’s not North America but after that I’m stumped.  I’m terrible at geography though.  I  always want Portugal to be in South America and I have consciously remind myself that it’s not (even though it should be).
  • I love Liechtenstein!  In high school, my friend Matt and I used to have this thing when we were at a party where we would go up to each other and say “Where are we going?”  to which we would both answer “Liechtenstein!”.  Which basically meant we were going to get drunk.  I don’t know how that even started.
  • I love that both China and Japan, along with their own country’s flags, managed to get their hands on some mini Canadian flags, and yet the Canadian team couldn’t seem to get any. 
  • I love Shaun White, I know him more for skateboarding at the X Games then for snowboarding but I still love him, and he was walking with Louie Vito whom I adored on Dancing with the Stars.  I know they’re American but I can love them anyway.
  • Man, that was a chilling when Georgia came out, god, those poor people having to deal with everything.  I can’t even imagine the mix of emotions they must have been feeling.  That must be so hard not only for the Georgian athletes to keep going but for everyone who is competing in luge.  How do you mentally prepare yourself to go flying down that track (which I think is insanity at the best of times) when you know that someone died there?  So sad.

So all in all I think it had some moments but was pretty long and very slow moving.  But, somewhere among the First Nations people dancing, the weird kid flying around the prairies, the people wandering through the arctic tundra and the excruciatingly long transitions between segments I somehow was reminded of this: 

So thanks Olympic Committee – I haven’t seen that in ages.

Leave a Reply

