Avatar

February 11, 2010 at 5:16 pm (Random Ramblings)

Current playlist:  Mostly 30 Seconds to Mars (still), also these

Jay Malinowski – Santa Monica

 The Temper Trap – Sweet Disposition 

I went to see Avatar last night for the second time and once again it was stunning!  I can’t tell you how much I love that movie, it is so visually stirring that I’m a little exhausted by the end of it.  This is probably partly due to the 3D glasses which I’m not used to, I will admit the last 3D movie I saw was Jaws which was……..not good, and needless to say the technology has advanced quite a bit since 1983.   If you haven’t seen it you really should see it in the theatre in 3D to get the full experience.  I mean Avatar, not Jaws. 

Along with the visual artistry of the movie I really love the story.  When I saw it the first time I didn’t know anything about it but I thought it was going to be a typical Sci-Fi movie which I’m generally not that into.  I didn’t realize it’s actually more of a fantasy/fairy tale/action movie.  I enjoyed the one liners in it that make reference the war in Iraq and the stupidity of it all.  I know some people think the message that we’re all connected to each other and the earth and that we’re all just borrowing from the same universal energy while in these bodies is a little too touchy-feely and unrealistic.  But I believe it and I think the sooner we all realize it the better off we’ll be.    

Anyway, great movie and definitely worth seeing, people actually clapped at the end when I saw it the first time.  As for the crying factor, I’ll give it a 5 out of 10, there were tears but I was able to keep it together.

Since I’ve been out of commission for a few weeks I’m going to back track a little and even though I realize the Grammys were 2 weeks ago, if you haven’t seen Pink’s performance from that night you need to watch it.  Because that…… was awesome!!!  I love her!  And I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again, to all those useless ‘singers’ who use performance as an excuse to lip-sync their shows,  once again it has been proven if you can sing….you can sing.  Period. 

Love it!!!!!  But I did keep thinking how that must have irritated some of the people in the audience who got dripped on. 

Also from the Grammys.  I want this dress.  That’s all.

Leave a Reply

