I’m in love…

December 16, 2009 at 9:42 pm (Music)

…with the new 30 Seconds to Mars album This Is War. 

I think this could be “The One”.  I mean it, I think this album and I are soul mates.  We are going to do everything together: spend lazy Sundays relaxing on the couch, take long walks, have candlelit dinners, enjoy a nice bottle of wine, go for long drives – everything!  We’re going to be together forever and nothing and no one will ever come between us!!!!!!   

Playlist:  

“No matter how many breaths that you took you still couldn’t breathe.” ~ Hurricane

Seriously, it is SO good I can’t even begin to describe it.  I could have put every song in the playlist and trying to choose 3 was tough, This Is War is my favorite song right now.  When he sings “I do believe in the light, raise your hands up to the sky.  The fight is done, the war is won, lift your hands toward the sun”  I get chills.  Love that song.  It’s been 4 years since their last album came out and wow, is this album ever worth the wait!!!!  I’ve been listening to it non stop since it came out last week and I’m beyond obsessed.  Definitely think this one is my favorite album of the year (sorry Madina Lake, but you guys are still my boys).  

I remember last spring reading that the band was doing something called The Summit, they didn’t release many details about it at the time but basically they gathered a bunch of fans together and recorded their vocals doing different things to use on the album.  At the time I thought it sounded like a cool idea and how awesome that would be to say that your voice is actually on the new 30STM album.  Now, I think it is the best idea any band ever had!  The result is amazing!!!!  The crowd vocals and clapping bring something extra to the songs and makes them even more stirring.  Here’s some footage from the initial event in LA, they later did some other events around the world but the band wasn’t in attendance at those ones.  

So cool!!!!!!  Oh, and the monks chanting at the end of the last song on the album – very cool and also, creepy.  

On a completely different note, I found this clever Flowchart that helps you determine what fast food to eat based on your circumstances, ex.  Are you high?  Genius!

Leave a Reply

